I Love a Good Ombre

I love Ombre hair, I love Ombre shirts, I love Ombre rugs… and now I love Ombre stairs.

Ombre

Ombre Stairs

I saw this photo on Design Sponge a while back and it really stuck with me. Chris and I don’t have any stairs in our main house but the apartment we’re building below does!

Here is the before photo.

BS Apt Living to Bedroom

When I was in Home Depot’s paint section the other day (lets be honest I’m at Home Depot everyday) I found the most perfect shade of teal in their discount section. I think I paid 10 bucks for a gallon of this refreshing hue.

Teal Blue Paint

Now for the DIY.

Cut  fronts for the stairs out of a really thin type particle board. I don’t know the official name for it, but it takes the paint pretty well and was easy to cut for the most part.

Once the boards were cut I laid them out on a painters tarp and on top of some old wood to keep the stair fronts from sticking to the tarp. I started mixing the paint in some disposable aluminum baking trays. It was pure luck. I found these upstairs in the kitchen in the middle of the project when I realized the random used containers around our work site were not going to cut it. The aluminum trays come with clear plastic tops so storing the paint for later touchups was easy.

IMG_20131117_171707 IMG_20131117_171811

I gave each stair front at least 3 coats of paint. Then let them dry overnight. The next day Chris smeared liquid nails on the back and nailed the corners in with a nail gun. I filled in the nail holes with wood fill, sanded the area and touched up the corners with the paint I was so glad I saved.

I am so happy with the results. This final photo is of course not the final product. Check back here to see the big reveal of the apartment!

IMG_20131117_182630

One comment

Leave a Reply

